09
Nov
08

Relativity

As I approach the half-way mark here of my time here in Korea, I have noticed that time has once again slowed down again, unfortunately.  For about a month or so, time was speeding by.  My weeks seemed almost over by Tuesday, and before I knew it it was the weekend and another week was happening again within moments.  Time was going very quickly, which is good, because while Korea is interesting, I don’t particularly enjoy my time here, and I dearly miss Marc.

While my weeks themselves are still going fast, it feels like time in general has slowed back to a normal pace, which is to say, too slow.  When I look at my counter toward my hypothetical vacation date (I have not gotten my vacation time set in stone yet), which is also the date I get to fly back stateside and see Marc again, it never seems to get closer.  I mean, sure, it now stands at about 2.5 months, rather than the 5 months it was back at the end of August, but…that still feels like a long time.  Too long.  Really, anything more than a month feels not all that much more different than 5 months, I have found.  While the weeks go by quickly, looking at my calendar and thinking “Oh, I only have 2 months and 2 weeks left instead of 2 months and 3 weeks left” just isn’t all that satisfying.  Know what I mean?

Added to this is the fact that Marc has apparently been feeling what I have come to call “reverse loneliness”.  He has been hanging out with his female friends a considerable amount recently, but instead of it making him feel less lonely, it seems to only make him miss me more.  In his words, “They are nice, and they keep me company, but they are not you.  Their presence only makes me more acutely aware of your absence and makes me miss you more.” .  I am not a jealous person in the least, and I have no problem with him hanging around with other women or even having them sleep over (so long as they know his heart is taken).  But, it does pain me to see him so lonely, with or without other companions.  So, I want to get back to DC as soon as possible, a sentiment he very much mirrors.

Anyway.  Time needs to speed back up.  Now.  I need to get back to this:

Aw, we're so cute.

I miss my Frenchman.

1 Response to “Relativity”


  1. 1 Mom
    November 11, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    I can say that I know what you are both feeling having done this myself at a similar age. You are halfway through and this will be the most difficult time. Once you have definite times for your upcoming vacation, you will start to feel better, then the hard thing will be returning to Korea, but then you will have such a short stay, relatively, that it will go by quickly. If you have semi-definite plans for when you’re done, you will have things to look forward to as well.

    On another unrelated note, we watched an incredible Coen brothers movie last night….Romance and Cigarettes. If you haven’t seen it, you should try to find it somewhere on the internet. It is wacky even for the Coen brothers and John Turturro, but touching in their weird way.


Leave a Reply

free counters

