27
Oct
08

Semi-Silence

I realized today that I haven’t spoken to another native speaker of English in 11 days, other than a skype session with Marc mid last week.  At this rate, I’m going to return to the US with halting, pidgin-esque speech patterns.

Strangely, this (the lack of contact) doesn’t really bother me.  I have never had much trouble being alone.  I entertain myself by talking to imaginary people (mostly real people who are merely absent, though the occasional fictional character makes an appearance) and daydreaming a lot.  I have traditionally found that I am far better at retreating into my own mind without going nuts than most people.  I spent most of my childhood in a very rich inner world, and I think that probably was a major contributor to that ability.

I probably won’t see any of the other foreigners until Thursday at the earliest, and mid next week at the latest, which would bring my total days without seeing another native speaker up to around 20 days.  There are 7 other foreigners on the island, and I don’t dislike them, I just don’t really have that much of a drive to socialize here.

Anyway.  Just some thoughts.

6 Responses to “Semi-Silence”


  1. 1 Mom
    October 28, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    hey punkin,

    will you be around for a call Wednesday night about 9-10 pm? I need to ask you about a couple of things. Let me know.

    Love you
    mom

  2. October 28, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Is that my time or your time? If you want, I’m on now.

  3. October 29, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    There’s always talking to yourself, which is one way to find an intelligent conversation.

    Thanks for the nice comments on my blog.

  4. October 30, 2008 at 12:43 am

    Yeah, I do talk to myself quite a bit. I also listen to a lot of books on tape while I’m puttering around the apartment.

  5. October 30, 2008 at 11:52 am

    I am totally a daydreamer like this, and I catch myself making very strong facial expressions or mouthing words that are part of my daydreams. I don’t think anyone’s caught me in the act of this … yet. I daydreamed a lot more in high school when I had very little social contact outside of classes, and while I never connected it before to a coping mechanism for my lack of a social life, it probably was a very adequate one indeed. I often pace around the house daydreaming when I’m alone. Now that I live with someone, it’s how I entertain myself with walks.

    Well, off to work. (Blargh.)

  6. November 1, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    I do that too. I even gesture sometimes. I think my propensity toward that sort of daydreaming has something to do with why I tend to shy away from people sometimes. I think that given the choice of hanging out with someone I am lukewarm about and hanging out with the people in my imagination, I tend to choose the imaginary ones.


Leave a Reply

free counters

