22
Oct
08

Some thoughts…

I do a lot of web surfing in my copious amounts of free time at work, and with web surfing inevitably comes daydreaming.

I was meandering around wikipedia and various expat blogs today and I started thinking; if Marc and I were not together, or if he were somehow able to fit into my pocket, what would I do?  Where would I go?

Before I came to Korea, I told a few people that if Marc and I were to break up before I got back to the US, that as a coping mechanism (because really, it would hit me pretty hard) I would look around for a tall ship to sign onto for a few months or so.  I haven’t sailed in years, but it’s a good way to get away from the world.  Your life is pretty much work/sleep/work/sleep/work/shoreleave/drink/sleep, and while it does get tedious, it is also refreshing in its simplicity.  Plus, on a ship, you’re pretty much cut off from the world except for your crewmates, and if you’re not socially inclined, they tend to leave you alone, I have found.

I think that path is still something I would consider, though these days I think I would be more likely to go and try to find work in other countries that I have more of an interest in.  Russia would be interesting, especially places other than Moscow or St. Petersburg, such as Krasnoyarsk or Perm, on the edges of Siberia.  Mongolia would also be neat, as would Slovakia, Croatia, or even Turkey.  I would love to work in Germany, or Switzerland, or France – countries where I know people and speak the language to varying degrees – but it is almost impossible to get jobs in them.

I get irritated with the culture here in Korea, but that is not because it is foreign – on the contrary, I love integrating myself into new cultures – it is because the culture and I do not personally mesh.  I’m sure it’s different up in Seoul (though, from reading the forum posts, only somewhat different), but down here in Jindo, I find that people are generally rude, inconsiderate, dirty, selfish, and closed.  Not everything, but if I had to characterize, that’s what I would say.  But, the cultures I have listed above are all ones I feel I would be at least moderately compatible with, for different reasons, and they are places I think it would be interesting to live for a temporary period of time.

Hopefully I will get to visit all of those places for more than a cursory glance, but I hope it will be with Marc, not without him.

2 Responses to “Some thoughts…”


  1. 1 deeanddang
    October 23, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Hello.

    I just move to Korea in a past few weeks .
    I still have a lot to learn about Korea and Korean.

    Thanks for share.

  2. October 23, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Where are you from? You’re clearly not a native English speaker, and I’m curious.


Leave a Reply

free counters

