12
Oct
08

A note on reenacting…

Marc is at his first Civil War event this weekend, as part of a Confederate cannon crew.  He’s out with Tom and Bren and the rest of the QRF (Quick Reenacting Force, the humorous name of our multi-period unit) in Quantico, VA.  Neither he nor I have much interest in the Civil War, but he already had some clothes for it, and the rest of the unit filled out his kit for him, to sort of “test drive” the period.  He and I focus mostly on 18th century (French and Indian War and Revolutionary War) and WWII, but we have avoided Civil War, but this could be an interesting “once in awhile” type thing.  I’m really not fond of women’s fashion from the period, but with some help, I might be convinced to make something, though I really would like to make something from a lower class farming sort of background.  Most women at Civil War events are vastly, vastly over-dressed, and it has always bugged me.

I find myself really missing reenacting, while being here in Korea.  I miss Marc, I miss my stateside friends, I miss seeing the New England foliage, I miss cheese…but I also really, really miss reenacting.  There is a sort of camaraderie in the hobby that one only finds when you get together a group of people who are really, truly passionate about something.  These days, with the exception of the friends I have held onto from college, almost all my friends are connected through reenacting, and so it has really become a major part of my life.  I started reenacting when I was 12 years old, and though I took a bit of a hiatus for a few years in college, it has always been one of the most important parts of my life.  Some reenactors are very casual about the hobby, but for both Marc and I, it is very much a part of our daily lives.  Not many people can say that about their hobby.

0 Responses to “A note on reenacting…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

free counters

